Join the Saint Clair Wines mailing list
Connect with Saint Clair
Saint Clair Social Media Feeds

Press Releases

Christchurch Casino Announces 2008 First Taste Sauvignon Blanc Award Winners

07 November 2008 Christchurch Casino announced the category winners and gold medallists at its 13th annual First Taste Sauvignon Blanc Awards last night in The Grand Cafe.

Saint Clair’s Pioneer Block 6 ‘Oh’ Block Sauvignon Blanc 2008 was judged the overall winner from 50 finalists to achieve the coveted First Taste Award, along with the Industry Showcase Award as well as claiming gold medal status.

All judging was completed by international wine judges Terry Copeland and Jim Harre, alongside guest judge John Hawkesby.
Montana Letter Series B Sauvignon Blanc 2008 won the People’s Choice Award, as voted by nearly 2000 members of the public during the month of October.

Cable Bay Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc 2008, Kim Crawford Sauvignon Blanc 2008, Spinyback 2008 Sauvignon Blanc and Waipara Hills Southern Cross Selection Waipara Sauvignon Blanc were also awarded gold medal status for their exceptional quality.
Wine judge Terry Copeland says ‚the judges were really delighted to see a divergence of styles across a variety that is often accused of being one dimensional. The winning wines came from three different areas and each displayed a concentration completeness and interesting textures. In spite of many commentators deriding the quality of 2008 Sauvignon Blanc, these results show that great wines have been made‛.

165 guests attended the awards evening last night in Christchurch Casino’s Grand Café and sampled the spectacular award winners as they were announced.

For more information contact
Amelia Kininmonth
Christchurch Casino
03 371 2452 or 027 343 5859